Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons

I just learned of this challenge from the blog My Life Lived Full. I’ve debated whether a “changing season” challenge is something I should undertake. Living in Texas several months go by when there seems to be little change in the landscape.

Before I moved to Texas I was told…”The difference between Winter and Summer in Texas is: in the Winter the trees are bare, the grass is brown and the skies are blue. In the Summer the trees have leaves, the grass is brown and the sky is blue!” This explanation has proven to be true. However, there are some differences in the flower beds…so that’s where I’ve decided to focus.

When I first moved to Texas, 16 years ago, an elderly neighbor told me to cut my rose bushes back in February. I have always followed her advice and no matter how far back I cut them they always come back in a grand and beautiful way! So here it is February, the rose bushes are cut back, and I have chosen to share photos of my flower beds for this season changing challenge.

back flower bed 1

Overview of the backyard flowerbed

Peeking his head out...is it Spring yet?

Peeking his head out…is it Spring yet?

Knock out roses

Knock out roses

Frog

It looks so bare in the winter

It looks so bare in the winter

Autumn Sage

Autumn Sage

Why bricks around the redbud? A lab named Sugar!

Why bricks around the redbud? A lab named Sugar!

Front flower bed

Front flower bed

Flower bed front

If you would like to see how others are interpreting this challenge you can find their photos here

“The rules were simple and I’m very glad that a lot of you decided to join the challenge. If you haven’t joined, but feel like joining, it’s not too late. The idea behind it is to get you to shoot often and continuously, to build up your portfolio, get some photographic experience and have fun. This way you’ll capture the changing seasons throughout the year.” Cardinal Guzman

15 thoughts on “Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons

    1. treerabold Post author

      During the winter the grass is brown because its dormant…just like anywhere else in the country. During the summer its due to lack of rain and extreme heat. Only people that water their lawns regularly will keep a lush green lawn!

      Reply
      1. treerabold Post author

        We have been experiencing a drought for many years. It rains more during the winter and spring and the grass is usually green during the spring…until the heat gets too much around June….then its back to brown 😦

  1. joannesisco

    Welcome to the challenge Tree! Thank you for the shout-out. I’m humbled to have inspired you.
    Your barren winter scene looks warm and spring-like to me!! Looking forward to watching your flower beds change through the Texas seasons 🙂

    Reply
    1. treerabold Post author

      Thank you for the welcome Joanne and you are quite welcome!
      For us, we are experiencing cold temperatures today 32F…we may even see a flurry in the morning 🙂
      Good news is we will be back in the 70’s by Friday!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons 02 | Cardinal Guzman

  3. Cardinal Guzman

    Haha, that frog looks awesome. My son would have loved it!
    I have the same kind of lights in my “garden”: they charge from the sun and light up during the night. Thanks for joining the challenge, I’m looking forward to see more from Texas.

    Reply
  4. firstandfabulous

    I didn’t know that about rosebushes. I inherited some with the house we bought a while back. They look like death. Now I know. Thank your neighbor and thank you. And that frog is absolutely hysterical.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

