NaBloPoMo – Life

Yesterday I attended and presented at a mini – conference for individuals with Intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD), their families and professionals in the IDD field.

The morning session I attended was a panel of adults with IDD sharing their accomplishments and challenges. The line I heard that always makes me smile “We are more alike than different.”

This is so true. So many of us assume people with disabilities lack the same dreams, desires, and skills. Why is this? Why do we think someone with a disability wouldn’t want love, creature comforts and most importantly respect.

The people I know with disabilities fight battles every day that I will never have to face and so many of them do it with a grace few non-disabled people can manage.

I am honored to work with individuals that live life honestly and teach life lessons to anyone willing to pay attention.

6 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo – Life

  1. Sue

    My friend Joe, who has cerbrel palsy says nobody has “disabilities” but instead all are “differently-abled”. I love this term! It applies to all of us and reminds me to see all people as “whole” and not deficient. Also, some people have hidden differences that are not apparent in how they look or how their body functions. Be kind- always!

    Reply
    1. treerabold Post author

      Your friend Joe is wise. I like that term too.
      I have learned so much from people who are “differently abled”
      Inside every human is a heart and brain with the capability of thought and compassion and aren’t those 2 of the most important things any of us can do?
      Happy Tuesday my friend!

      Reply
  2. Su Leslie

    “We are more alike than different.” I can’t help feeling that if more of us remembered that line — about people of different faiths, nationalities, ethnicity and personal strengths and weaknesses, we would all be a lot better off. Thanks for such timely wisdom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

