Where is the Goodness?

There is hope in all things. There is goodness in all things and as a former pastor once told me, there is grace in all things. Although I believe all three of these statements are true, on days like today it is difficult to find hope, goodness and grace. All three seem lost to the anger and hatred that is saturating our world.

For those of you that may not have heard, a lone shooter entered a gay bar in Orlando Florida and killed at least 50 and injured 53. The LGBTQ community has always been aware that danger lurks at every corner. We know that young men, raging with testosterone, will hang outside gay bars just to have an opportunity to show their friends how macho they are by beating up gay men. We know that transgender women are at risk of being murdered simply because they do not fit an expected role in society. We know there are “Christians” in our country that believe death is the only thing people in the LGBTQ community deserve.

This morning, shortly after the shooting, the Lt. Gov. of Texas (Dan Patrick) tweeted the Biblical verse: “Do not be deceived. God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows.” His office is now claiming the tweet was not in response to this mornings shooting. But the reality is Dan Patrick has fought to deny the LGBTQ community equality. And when people of power publicly dismiss a certain group or actively discourage tolerance of that group they legitimize the hate.

I truly do believe in finding the good in all events. And I know in the days to come we will hear stories of heroism that occurred during this tragic event. I also know some of the victims will become organ donors and maybe survivors will go on to share their story and make a difference in our world. But for now it is painful. It is hurtful to know one person has enough hate in their heart to shoot 100 (plus) total strangers simply because they love differently.

Let us pray for the victims, their families, friends and the rest of the LGBTQ community that realizes it could have been any of us. And as difficult as it is, let us pray for the man that committed this crime and his family. Because the true sign of a Christian (and I believe a good person) is not one that condemns others, but one that forgives others and chooses to love their enemy.

5 thoughts on “Where is the Goodness?

  1. joannesisco

    Tree, I’ve been avoiding this topic and quite frankly all the news related to it. I simply can’t bear to hear it.

    I live in a tolerant country. I live in one of the most tolerant cities in the world. Yet since my son came out 15 years ago, I’ve lived in fear for him because homophobia exists.

    Every person killed and every person hurt in Orlando was my son.

    When I think about it, when I inadvertently catch the news about it, I cry. So I’ve compartmentalized it away. Your post is one of the very rare ones I’ve chosen to read because it’s you.

    I have no use for any organized religion. The fanatics – both Christian and non-Christian – use parts of whatever *sacred book* they follow to justify their intolerance while conveniently ignoring the parts that teach love, acceptance, support for one another, and “cast no stone”.

    If you need evidence that there is good out there in the world, I’m sharing this post made by my son on Facebook after the shooting …

    “During the subway ride home after Saturday’s training ride, a woman was chatting to Dempsey and I about the ride and asked if we still needed donations. Using our names from our licence plates, she looked us up and just donated $200. She is a total stranger that we likely never would have seen again. Amidst all the heaviness in the news and on Facebook, I thought it important to share that little ray of sunshine. ‪#‎lovenothate‬ ‪#‎f4lbr‬”

    In case you’re wondering f4lbr stands for “Friends for LIfe Bike Rally”.

    Sorry for the really long comment ❤

    Reply
    1. treerabold Post author

      Thank you for the long comment. You brought tears to my eyes. I can’t imagine how hard it must be worrying about your son and the image of each young man killed being your son. My heart breaks so much for each of those families and all the families (like your family) that must live in fear because you realize the danger is real.
      I appreciate you reading my post…although it was hard. And I appreciate you taking time to share your thoughts, fears and at the end the happy post from your son!
      I can’t wait to hear about his ride this year.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

